Kazmiranda’s Cafe, Berwick-upon-Tweed

image

Coming to you on a mobile phone from the Berwick-upon-Tweed Film, Media and Arts Festival.

I’m sat in a family business cafe and guitar shop residing below my feet. The staff are extremely friendly to both me and everyone I’ve seen come in, in the hours I’ve spent here.

The caramel slice caught my eye and I knew I had to have one. Last year I reviewed four while I was in the Tweed area.

The slice is made by Laurie, layers are homemade, chocolate store bought but melted on of course.

Chocolate is thick, caramel too. The shape is misshapen but it adds a more home made feel, so I don’t object.
I don’t have a ruler, but it measures one of my fingers square, I’ll measure my fingers later sorry.

Smells great, and you can’t go wrong there.

Also, side point, it comes on a gorgeous green plate with a fork!! I’ve never had a fork before!

Caramel is of a thick consistency, almost chewy, but I like it, chewy makes a change, a good change.

The chocolate is so familiar, it’s Galaxy. Though Karen, the owner, tells me they change types from Galaxy to Fairtrade, so you’re bound to experience different flavours.

Base is crumbly, maybe due to being thin or the use of breaking it with a fork.

As a whole the flavours often feel bland but then the flavour hits the buds at the back of the tongue and throat and it’s divine, truly.

The base is shortbread, but because of the moisture it has more of a shortcake feel and the flavour is almost not apparent, though when the caramel dominates, that’s fine, it is, after all a caramel slice.

I love the place and I love the caramel slice, I just wish there was more flavour when chewing and that let’s it down, but it doesn’t score low.

One more thing, the price is £1.75 which is acceptable.  But possibly a bit too much. But as the girls explain to me, you’re paying for their hospitality, warmth and friendliness, and it’s true.

If you’re in Berwick-upon-Tweed wanting a warm brew and a splendid caramel slice, head to Kazmiranda’s.

9.5 out of 10

Leave a Reply

