New, Tesco, UK

IMG_4801

Can you tell I shop at Tesco? The amount of caramel slices I’ve bought and consumed at/from Tesco is more than any other supermarket. I guess it shows they’re a popular cake, and not just to me.

This new slice, appearing in their ‘Finest’ section should be quite excellent, usually anything that says ‘Finest’ following ‘Tesco’ tends to cost a fair amount of money and I never really knew why.  I do now, they use good ingredients, follow good recipes and do what top restaurants like to do; serve them in small portions.

IMG_4795

These ‘finest’ slices are packaged in the same way as the none-‘finest’ caramel slice, except the cardboard part is dark, with golden marks to appear inviting and seductive. The slice varies by having Belgian dark chocolate, with markings of white chocolate lightly poured into the mix. It looks fantastic.

Dark chocolate, is a major bonus, it isn’t too strong, so it doesn’t feel like it’s choking me when I eat it. Tesco bakers, have applied it thickly, it’s tough and breaks with a rather sexy crack. (No innuendo intend.)

It does however mean your teeth are straight through the base and caramel to help break through. I’ve always liked having slices where my teeth meet in the middle, it provides and equal balance inside the mouth. Trust me.

IMG_4804

The caramel is gorgeous, seriously. It’s not as creamy as I’d like, but it keeps me happy.

The base, with all Tesco slices, has been a mahooosive let down, it’s their signature flaw, and this slice is no exception. There is one way to get around this failure though. Take two bites, and enjoy, crumbs will fall, leave them. Then with the one or two bites-worth that remain, bite the base off first and use the exposed caramel as a sticky crumb picker-upper. Works like a charm.

Ooh, I nearly forgot. They’re called Salted Caramel Slices. There is a thin layer of salt sitting at the top of the caramel. Some baking formula must make the salt rise. I see no need for the salt, I have enough salt in my diet at the moment and it doesn’t add a good taste when you bite into a salt granule. (No thanks, Tesco).

“We layer SMOOTH SALTED CARAMEL onto all butter, melt-in-the-mouth SHORTBREAD, top it with rich DARK BELGIAN CHOCOLATE and finish with a feathering of WHITE CHOCOLATE to make these SOPHISTICATED TREATS.” Written on the side of the packet. Sophisticated? Hmm.

5 to a packet. I eat 2 in one sitting because they’re small. But then I’m left with 1 all on its own, perhaps it’s trying to tell me I am a greedy bugger.

The price is of some concern, but it always is.

It tastes fantastic and I’ve eaten 4 packets in the past three weeks. Just a shame about the crumbling and the salt.

9.6 out of 10

IMG_4796

Important Stuff, that I have neglected to mention recently, sorry:

  • May contain Nuts and Egg
  • Suitable for Vegetarians

Per each slice:

  • 787KJ Energy
  • 10.4g Fat
  • 5.8g of which are Saturates
  • 22.1g Carbohydrates
  • 13.4g of which are Sugars
  • 0.5g Fibre
  • 1.4g Protein
  • 0.1g Salt

 

One thought on “New, Tesco, UK

Leave a Reply

