The Pie Shop, Sunderland

First of all, I would like to apologise for my absence, it has been a while since I last posted a review, but I have my reasons.

I have been busy, sadly not in the caramel slice department. I’m currently in my finally University year and so I have been rushed so much off my feet, I’ve been flying for several weeks now. ๐Ÿ˜›

To be honest I haven’t managed to find a caramel slice in Sunderland, I thought I had exhausted all the available locations. But lo and behold there was one, whilst I actually searched for a tackle shop. (I live in a city that’s practically surrounded by water, yet there isn’t a fishing shop any where near water…or not one that I can find).

I know I promised to go around the UK looking for slices, but like I said, I’ve been busy so it’s difficult to find the time to travel. I’m going to Newcastle on Tuesday maybe I’ll find one there. I went to London a few weeks back…I couldn’t find a single caramel slice, though I wasn’t looking that hard, to be frank. But I did look.

Any who, on with the review.

The slice at The Pie Shop looked an awful lot like Havershams slice (also in Sunderland – several streets away from each other), in fact, it even tasted like Havershams slice. It’s possible they are made by the same company, and I will do some research into that. But I can continue the review, because there are a few differences. And for those who haven’t read the Havershams review. I’ll go through this slice review properly, rather than just saying the differences.

9cm x 5.5cm x 2.5cm thick cut from a large slab of slices (what I would give for a serious slab of caramel slice….), I do enjoy large caramel slices and for the price of only 50p you can hardly go wrong. That’s also 25p cheaper than Havershams. So a grand start, don’t you think?

The picture above is sadly not very good, as it happens often, the slices become crumpled as I carry them home, I should carry a tub around with me to prevent such mishaps. I can’t say they looked that pleasing anyway, some one looked to have scraped a fork through the chocolate to create a pattern, but it didn’t make it appealing for me.

First Bite:

Straight away you taste the familiar creamy caramel. There is a large layer of caramel that dominates the base and makes the chocolate look like a flying carpet floating over the Atlantic Ocean (that was a random comparison). The caramel was very soft and sticky and became a constant annoyance as I kept licking my fingers after picking the slice up. I’m not a fan of sticky fingers, a napkin would have been handy. I do love the flavour of the caramel though. It’s the reason I keep going back to Havershams, I am literally a regular there now. The woman only has to look at me, to know what I want. Though, they did have a new younger pretty lass there this week. So I ask:

“Can I have two caramel slices please” with a smile on my face and exact change in my hand. ๐Ÿ™‚

(I love the warm atmosphere in Havershams. The Pie Shop had the door open so it was cool. But I was in and out in less than a minute.)

Second Bite:

This concentrates on the break up (or down) of the slice (the first bite is all about the initial flavour) the chocolate as I’ve said, is super thin and so it breaks like a slightly frozen pond when you drop a rock on it (I haven’t done that in years, good fun I do remember).

The base is soft and moist on touch, but comes across dry in the mouth. You’d have thought it would be the other way round, but no…

I found the chocolate to be very sugary and tastes distinctively ofย  baking/cooking chocolate. There was also a very large hole within the centre of the slice, so I feel I lost out there a bit. Though I’m not complaining too much, it made it easier to bite off a chunk of only slice to taste it.

Just to update you, I think I’ve mentioned it before, but I’ve had a funny jaw for a few years, since I first got Lock Jaw; a painful annoyance. At the moment I can only open my mouth about 2.7cm fortunately the slice fitted in well at only 2.5cm in thickness.

2/3 Through

A crumb caught in my throat and made me cough ferociously, I wasn’t best pleased. I threw some warm coffee down my throat to dislodge it. I’m sure this could have happened during the consumption of any slice but I don’t know, it made me wonder.. (Kenco coffee didn’t really go with it. Percol Coffee usually goes with caramel).

I think it sits higher up than Havershams, because a) it’s cheaper and b) Havershams are often quite stingy on the amount of caramel they provide, this one had more than enough. Though, when I think about, the chocolate was poor, the caramel consistency was a struggle to avoid sticky fingers.

It’s close, damn close.

7.6 out of 10

It beat Havershams.

 

Though only just.

 

Slightly off topic, I recommend listening to either Gene Kelly or Shel, whilst eating this slice.

๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

