Kafen Cafe, Sunderland, UK

This was another one of those ‘I was looking for a different cafe, but then I stumbled upon this one’.

Kafen Cafe is 1 of at least 5 cafes on a street running along the east side of Sunderland City centre. The street also has a large amount of solicitor buildings surrounded by many letting agents. It’s a nice street that is out of the way from the busy town, the perfect place for cafe. (Hence why there are at least 5).

So I was actually heading to a coffee shop, whose name I can’t recall, that is in the basement of one of the houses. It’s a lovely cafe that sells cupcakes and various other deserts and of course they sell tea and coffee.

Unfortunately I turned the opposite way on the middle junction and ended up walking away from the shop. I came upon Kafen Cafe, I entered and a middle-aged woman greeted me, continued her conversation then said hello again.

I asked for a caramel slice, though I couldn’t see any on the counter. But the younger waitress disappeared into a cupboard and brought me one. I was disappointed a bit as the slice was wrapped up in corporate wrappings, so it was obviously a caramel slice that had been baked else where and sent to the shop.

The slice is called a Millionaire Shortbread (the fancier term that I don’t use very often) and it is made by a company called Lichfields, which sounds familiar somewhat.

It’s a long slice measuring 11.2cm x 3.4cm x 1.5cm thick. Which is a good handling shape and for what it lacks in width is made up in length.

It’s aesthetically pleasing, I don’t like that word: aesthetically. Um. It looks great. I want to taste every layer, every crumb and savour it all..

The smell is nothing special, and smells like cheap chocolate, though the chocolate doesn’t taste cheap. It actually tastes very good. It’s creamy and soft. Soft choc is good.

First Bite:

Flavoursome with a crunchy greasy base and smooth soft top.

The greasy/oily base is from the all butter shortbread, it’s not a pleasant thing, though it adds to the flavour of the shortbread. And it’s probably one of the best shortbreads I’ve tasted on a caramel slice.

The slice has a good layer of caramel between an even layer of chocolate and large shortbread, the perfect combination. The caramel has a sugary texture and lovely flavour that mixes with the chocolate very well.

The base, though warm, has a cool taste to it, which could be the butter it also has the faint hint of leaf/lettuce/nature/plant in it. A weird taste, but one I have experienced before.

Fourth Bite:

Base flavour comes first followed by caramel and choc. Though the chocolate is struggling to define itself.

Plate is lined with very few crumbs. I large thumbs up there.

Shape is a large benefiting factor (benefactor? I’ve said it so much, it doesn’t sound like a real or right word.) it’s easy to hold and easy to bite.

Main disadvantages:

Oily shortbread is a bit off-putting, I was constantly wiping my hands after every pick up. Another downside, though only a small one, is the price which is £1.20. But it is a good slice.

If you remember at the start I was supposed to go to a different coffee shop? In the end I did but they didn’t have any caramel slices. So thanks Kafen Cafe, your caramel slice made my day.

8.9 out of 10

The important stuff now:

Per slice:

Energy: KJ – 1394 KCAL – 333

Protein: 2.3g

Carbohydrate: 41.2g
 of which are sugars: 25.7g

Fat: 17.5g
 of which are Saturates: 7.3g

Fibre: 0.9g

Sodium: 0.20g

Salt: 0.49g

Contains: Gluten, Milk, Soya, Sulphites and Wheat.

May contain Nuts.

Goes well with Kenco Coffee. 🙂

Leave a Reply

