Fox’s, Yorkshire, UK

I like doing alternatives, they’re interesting, they resemble a caramel slice with all three layers, but they are actually something else. They break the mould I suppose.

I was out looking for McVities biscuits in Morrisons (yes, I’m there again..), I know they do a chocolate digestive with caramel in the middle, so I wanted to check it out. It was a family shop and I don’t really have much say, so I stroll up and down the aisles looking at the things I can’t afford and the things I can, want to buy, but shouldn’t and won’t.

Stood in the biscuit, chocolate, crisps and sweets aisle, (heaven, for a child) I browsed the shelves and looked upon the Fox’s Biscquits section, (yes, Biscquits..). I found an alternative to the McVities biscuit with caramel, called Fox’s Chocolatey… … Caramel. It has a lovely picture of a fat biscuit oozing with caramel. I thought perfect.

“Shortcake biscquits (biscuits) with creamy caramel dressed in gorgeously thick milk chocolate.”

That’s the first time I’ve heard ‘gorgeously’ used in a cake description… I like it.

So the nitty-gritty now, the packet cost £1.09 and you get 8 circle biscquits measuring 4.9 all round. They’re not as fat as expected at only 0.9 thick, presenting the question, how do you store all that ‘oozing’ caramel inside. Well simply you don’t. The picture is a lie (just like the cake, (for you Portal fans)). In fact just below the picture it says ‘Biscuits shown are not actual size’ so I suppose that’s fair warning.

And my reading skills led me to believe that they went out of date in 1922…but I think that number is there for another reason…rather than a typo.

You can only see the top and bottom layer, the caramel is hidden on the inside, though my first biscuit had next to no caramel in it. The one I am munching on now, has a handsome amount.

The chocolate taste is fine, but nothing to boast about, the layer, I suppose is thick, but again no boasting. I’ve managed to bite the edge of the chocolate off leaving a small platform in the middle for my finger. This was an attempt to get a mouthful of caramel. Which wouldn’t work due to what I though was a thick layer of caramel turned out to be a bottom layer of chocolate. I am disappointed, (though I am in a good mood this morning and the biscquit wont dampen my spirits (I passed by driving (car) test this morning, so I ought to be happy)).

The shortcake biscuit base is nice, thick and strong avoiding crumbs like digestives.

altogether I find the flavour to be okay when chewed and eaten, when sucked, it allows your saliva to mix the flavours or taste them one by one until they combine, which is very appetising.

A cup of tea, is probably the best drink to have with it, so you can dunk, if dunking is your thing. Personally I like a wee dunk here and there, it’s nice to melt the chocolate a tad. I’m currently drinking mine with Elderberry Syrup Concentrate with water and lemon, it’s a nice drink, but it doesn’t seem to go with much.

I’m going to call this a caramel slice, because it does fit the bill and I will add it to the leader board.

I’m only giving it a 5.8 out of 10 becuase it lacks a decent amount of caramel, the packaging gives false impressions and then size in general. But it is tasty and a good biscuit but doesn’t meet the standard of caramel slice.

I did eventually find McVities version of the Biscuit slice, And I will review them, hopefully in the next few days. I even found a 4th variation of Morrisons own brand caramel slice. (Seriously how many do they need?).

Now, the important stuff:

Per Biscquit:

Energy: KJ – 295 KCAL – 70

Protein: 0.9g

Carbohydrate: 8.6g
 of which are sugars: 6.4g

Fat: 3.6g
 of which are Saturates: 2.1g

Fibre: 0.3g

Sodium: 0.03g

Salt: 0.06g

Store in a cool dry place, once opened place in an air tight container.

Contains: Wheat, Gluten, Milk, Soya. May contain Nuts.

Suitable for Vegetarians.

Leave a Reply

