M&S Dessert, UK

A massive slab of satisfaction, floating on a sea of unfamiliar consistency, inside a crusty tasty bowl of pleasure.

That, ladies and gentlemen, is the description I have given to a caramel slice dessert I enjoyed not one hour ago. I am unsure whether that description sounds good to you or not? It does to me.

This is the M&S Mini Millionaire ‘s Tarts. “A firm favourite!…! apparently (I’m not sure who to).

The box’s description is less expressive:

Irresistible little toffee tarts finished with dark coating chocolate and white chocolate

That’s not as outstanding as I made them out to be. they are darling little tarts indeed though.

Serves 3.

Marks and Sparks do make some cracking food, it’s the price however that puts me off, they are though, most likely worth it, so that’s great.

I picked these up immediately on noticing them, regardless of their price. The packet contains 3 little round cakes measuring 6.1cm all round.

It’s layered slightly differently to normal slices as the base reaches up to the top of the chocolate, much like a dessert or pudding pie type thing. The crust was remarkably lovely. I do like pie crusts though. The base crumbled and broke off in places, because it was very thin, particularly along the sides.

The chocolate was very thick so thick that it took some effort to break through. But the taste was so brilliant that was soon forgotten until the next bite. It was creamy and cool, it tasted exactly like chocolate ice cream. Exactly. The white chocolate was merely a small drizzle and didn’t contribute to the taste, but it was a pretty added touch.

The caramel is where points are lost and won. It tasted incredibly good, but it was very gloopy almost like syrup only a bit stronger. It was when I attempted to bite down into the chocolate that it happened…the chocolate, being it’s concrete-like appearance, pushed into the base and squashed out the caramel which smashed into my chin. Messy, I can tell you.

The overall taste is very good, but by the end the chocolate has managed to slide into my mouth leaving caramel and base alone, which just isn’t the same and could get some what sickly.

I very much liked this dessert. If I ate it with a knork (knife-fork) with some whipped cream perhaps, I think it would be a great dessert worth having occasionally often (somewhere between the two).

The caramel brings down its score to 7.7 out of 10. That is a respectable score, but I have to reflect it on the other slices to award it fairly, and so the price also brings it down from an 8 or 9 position.

Now the important stats, per tart:

Energy: 750KJ 180KCAL

Protein: 1.7g

Carbohydrates: 23.0g of which are Sugars: 16.3g

Fat: 8.8g of which are Saturates: 5.8g

Fibre: 0.7g

Sodium: 0.01g

Salt: 0.03g

Contains cow milk, eggs, soya, wheat and gluten.

Not suitable for NUT allergy sufferers due to manufacturing methods used.

Leave a Reply

