The Dennis Cafe, Tenby

Forgive me for a slight lack of information. I am writing this blog post from two things; 1. the small amount of notes that I punched into my phone whilst trying not to be rude to my parents on holiday 2. some figment in my mind that seems to recall that annoying attempt at a caramel slice.

My family and I  had our holiday in the south of Wales over the summer. We stayed at New Hedges, a few miles away from the town Tenby. After an afternoon spent being tourists in Tenby, tea time approached and we fancied some cream teas, but every where we went was sold out of them.

Down by the beach we got an ice cream earlier in the day from The Dennis Cafe, whilst we were there we noticed that they had some scones and cakes and I noticed a caramel slice, with a very dark coloured caramel. We returned to the Cafe hoping for a cream tea, unfortunately they only had one small tub of Clotted Cream left. So my father had a cream tea and I believe my mother got a scone and shared his cream and jam. I however had to have some thing else. Being away from Sunderland, I was craving a caramel slice, so that’s what I got.

Actually, no…that’s not what I got.

It was more like a toffee slice, that unusual colour of the ‘caramel;’ dark and hard looking, was hard indeed, because it was toffee. I’m not a fan of toffee, if you pass me a tin of quality streets/roses I will avoid the ones with toffee (I’d go for a strawberry cream). The ‘toffee’ did well at keeping the slice together until I bit into it, where the biscuit base – not touching the caramel/toffee – crumbled away.

I can’t recall the size or thickness of the slice, but it may have come with a little baking case (or whatever they’re called). Referring to my notes, the chocolate was only ‘okay’.

The common thing with shops interested in hauling in tourists are the high prices. Comparing the slice to Havershams (see early blog post) which is much tastier, The Dennis Cafe slice was double the price at £1.50. That’s too much for something that is hard and strong at the top, but a mountain slide of crumbliness at the bottom.

4 out of 10

Leave a Reply

